Merriam wins 2022 Bill Schwanke Award for FCS Football Broadcasters

An SDSU graduate, Merriam has been calling plays for South Dakota State athletics ever since he joined the department as freshman in 2003.

FCS Nation Radio

FCS Nation Radio

Tyler Merriam profile photo
Source: South Dakota State Athletics

The radio voice of the South Dakota State Jackrabbits, Tyler Merriam, has been named the 2022 winner of the Bill Schwanke Award. The Bill Schwanke Award, named after the longtime radio voice of the Montana Grizzlies, is awarded annually to the top play-by-play radio broadcaster in DI FCS Football. A voting panel including Tim Brando from Fox Sports, Paul Pabst of the Dan Patrick Show, Freddie Coleman from ESPN, Kevin Marshall and Stone Labanowitz of FCS Nation Radio and other media and broadcasters who cover FCS Football decide the winner. Past winners include Gary Rima from Northern Iowa. Congratulations to all of the finalists, every one of them was deserving of the award.

Finalists for the 2022 Bill Schwanke Award

  • Tyler Merriam — South Dakota State
  • Jason Ross — Sacramento State
  • Jay Colley — William & mary
  • Dan Scott — Furman
  • Bob Black — Richmond
  • Greg Stotelmyer — Eastern Kentucky
  • Mike Reis — Southern Illinois